Shady El Noshokaty

0911 12 14
19

The Tree of my Grand Mother’s House 2001-2005 ( The dialoge 2001 ) Instillation & Sculbture

ARTIST’S STATMENT
It was the first time I was alone inside my grandmother’s old house. It was also the last time for me there before all the furniture was packed to be sent to another place and the house’s high walls were demolished.
It was the first time for me to see the chairs after they were shrouded in preparation for their departure from the walls against which they used to rest. They were leaving these walls on which we had carved the numbers and lines of our memories, a heart for our first love and the scratches of our anger. These walls had absorbed the tears of our sadness, the sweat of our hands and the remains of our hair. Nothing is left alive but this old tree. I can still feel the thin hairs that surround its roots. They are spread under the layers of my skin. I can see its image upon both my father and my son’s faces. How then can we describe memory and who will preserve it for us? And who preserves history?
Everything will be destroyed. Nothing will remain but these holes filled with solid balls of shiny white snow. I can still see them inside this tree, on these walls and under these shiny white shrouds.

Shady Elnoshokaty 
January 2001

Shady El Noshokaty concentrates on photography, projection and corresponding video screens. In the most of his artworks, we can see that different elements are presented in.  Moreover, the artist uses different ways of presentation at the same time. It seems more powerful and more ambiguous in the artwork.

Leave a Reply

